Skip to content

Playing with Makeup: Marion Cotillard @ SAG 2010

February 6, 2010

Earlier today, I was playing with some makeup that I bought from BeFlurt.com, and became inspired to start a new series of posts called, you guessed it, “Playing with Makeup.”

I used to play around with makeup when I was in high school and college. I did a lot of theater and performing arts back then, and so I was often creating looks to suit different moods and characters. Soon enough, experimenting with makeup became an additional extracurricular activity, simply because it’s a lot of fun! I’m not much of a “traditional” artist by the way of drawing or painting, but eyeshadows and lipsticks help me make my own kind of art, if you will.

Today, I was inspired by Marion Cotillard‘s look at the SAG Awards last month. I really loved the use of teal to give a fresh twist to the traditional smoky eye.

So, I did some playing of my own!  For the eyes, I applied MAC Pigment in Your Ladyship for highlight (inner corners of the eyes and under the brow), Deep Blue Green on the lid (only half, not the full lid), and Milk to blend. Since Milk is a light, shimmery pink/purple shade, it gave the look a little more smoke, and softened the dark teal. To finish the look, I applied Benefit Bad Gal Lash mascara and a thin black line on the upper lash line to add more depth.

Not as pretty as Marion’s, but then again, she’s much prettier than me! I wish I took close up photos of the eyelids, but alas, it’s too late now. Maybe next time.

Anyway, to complete the look, I used Smashbox Tokidoki Soft Lights to add a subtle glow to the cheeks, nose, and around the face, and applied a pink/nude gloss to the lips.

So, what do you think? Pretty simple, right? To get the look, shop BeFlurt.com for the following items:

1. MAC Pigments — $15.00 (compared to $19.50 retail)

2. Smashbox Tokidoki Soft Lights and Brush Set — $25.99 (compared to $48.00 retail)

Also, a wide variety of MAC Mascaras and Lipglass have been recently added, so take a look! At prices like these, it makes play time even more fun! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 5:34 PM

    Hello. Great job. I did not expect this on a Wednesday. This is a great story. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

